February 7 Deadline for Nominations for Academies’ $20,000 Keck Awards

The National Academies plans to make awards for outstanding science reporting or communications in books, film/radio/TV, magazine/newspaper, and online media.

Four media-specific science communications awards are to be given by the National Academies in 2014, each carrying with it a $20,000 prize.

The awards for journalists, writers, correspondents, and producers are part of the Academies’ Communications Awards for Excellence in Reporting and Communicating Science, Engineering, and Medicine, funded by the Keck Futures Initiative.

The four awards are to be made for work in: books, film/radio/TV, magazine/newspaper, and online outlets.

Criteria to be considered for the 2014 awards:

  • Accessibility and appeal to a broad public audience;
  • Clear, creative, original, and accurate;
  • Addressing issues or advances in science engineering, and/or medicine;
  • Covering topics “that have an impact on society”; and
  • Must have been published, broadcast or released in 2013 in the U.S and in English.

The nominations process closes February 7, and winners are to be honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on an as-yet-unspecified date this fall. Additional information is available online at www.keckfutures.org.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.